CAN ANYTHING GET WORSE?

It’s been a while since I posted something on this blog.  Last week has been a roller coaster ride.  The week before, I have heard from a friend that his father died.  He (my friend) is in Dubai and won’t be able to come home for his father’s burial.  It has been a while since I have seen him.  If I am not mistaken, we have seen each other before I went to Singapore in 2009 and that’s it.  I came home in 2011 and he came home from Hong Kong but we failed to meet up.  Then I just heard from a common friend that he’s already working in Dubai.

A few days after that, it was my birthday!  Well, I am glad that I get to spend my birthday this year with my whole family.  Last year, I spent my birthday alone.  At least this time I have them.  It was not the perfect birthday I have in mind, but it was still a happy one.  I am thankful for all the blessings I have received for the past year and looking forward what is in store for me this year that I have come a year older.

The day after is Mother’s Day.  Just like every year, we don’t get to plan and surprise my mom on this day.  But we do appreciate all her sacrifices.  My mom, my sister and I went to attend Mass early in the morning.  Then cooked something for her before dinner.  However, something came up and my sister was having pain on her tummy.  It must have been her gastritis which she was suffering from for a long time now.  We had to bring her to the hospital since she can’t take the pain anymore.  Thank God after a few hours, she was feeling okay already so we get to bring her home.

Monday was election day.  But since none of us were able to register to vote except my Mom, it was just her who was able to vote.  I feel bad about not being able to vote.  It is a responsibility and I feel like an irresponsible citizen of the country.  The last election, I was not able to vote as well since I left the country to work abroad.  Anyway, I would surely register early for the next election.

I thought that was the worst thing that could happen this week but I was wrong.  We heard the news about a friend of ours who was robbed the night before.  It’s a usual thing nowadays since just a few months back, it was my brother who was robbed.  And a few months before that too is my sister being robbed.  But I am thankful, so thankful that both my brother and sister are okay after the robbery.  However, it was unfortunate for our friend since his life was taken away.

Last weekend, we attended the funeral.  I don’t know how to explain how I feel watching a young man being sent to his grave.  He had a lot of dreams but he will never get the chance to make them come true anymore.  It was all because he was a victim of a crime in the society.  And the worst part is, we are surely going to miss our friend.  I don’t know how my sister is taking all this since she is so close to him.  I hope she gets to be stronger and we can all move on.

And for the nth time, I let someone break my heart again.  I thought he was the one but I guess, for the nth time again, I was wrong.  I am still trying to figure out what to do.  Maybe I should give up on guys already.  Maybe I should just focus on other things.  Maybe my other friend is right.  That I am better off without a boyfriend.  At least, no one will disappoint and let me down.  There are a lot things worse than having your heart broken.  So maybe, I should be thankful this is not the worst.

Care to share what's on your mind?